Click for information about KATESOL/BE 2005

Announcing the 2005 KATESOL/BE Honor Roll

Press Release dated January 28, 2005

(Emporia, Kansas) The Executive Board of the Kansas Association of Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages and Bilingual Educators (KATESOL/BE) has announced the KATESOL Honor Roll for 2005. "KATESOL members and other language educators in the state nominated colleagues, mentors, and heroes to be recognized for their dedication and significant contributions to the language teaching profession," said KATESOL/BE President Robert Bruce Scott, assistant professor of special education/ESOL at Fort Hays State University. "Every one of these individuals is being honored primarily for their selfless efforts as advocates for the English language learners of Kansas."

Among this year's 20 educators on the KATESOL Honor Roll are seven Pre-K-12 classroom teachers, six Pre-K-12 building and district level administrators, three directors of adult literacy programs catering to culturally and linguistically diverse families, and four ESOL teacher educators at the college or university level.

"Actually this year's honorees represent hundreds and hundreds of others who teach, supervise, direct, and provide teacher education to help the state of Kansas meet a growing need for ESOL and literacy services at every level," explained Scott. "We hope these awards help to raise awareness of the tremendous difference so many teachers make in the lives of English language learners, immigrant Kansans and all Kansans for the continued well-being of the state."

KATESOL Honor Roll recipients will be recognized at the Opening Ceremony of the KATESOL/BE Annual Conference on Friday, February 18th, 2005, on the campus of Emporia State University, home of the National Teachers Hall of Fame. Certificates will be presented to the honorees at that time, and mailed to any who are unable to attend or their schools. For information on how to nominate a teacher for the 2006 KATESOL Honor Roll, please send an e-mail to:

The 2005 KATESOL Honor Roll, in alphabetical order:

Cynthia Adcock
Migrant/ESL Coordinator
Salina Public Schools USD 305
Salina, Kansas

Roger Baskerville
Golden Plains Public Schools
Selden, Kansas

Karen Collins
ELL Teacher
Rosehill Elementary School
Shawnee Mission, Kansas

Mary Dalton
ESL Coordinator
Topeka Public Schools
Topeka, Kansas

Edward Erazmus
Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas

Elaine Fox
Instructor, Southwest ESOL Program
Fort Hays State University
Garden City, Kansas

Emma Handlin
Third Grade Teacher
Buffalo Jones School
Garden City, Kansas

Peggy Hull
Associate Professor of ESL
Director, Academic ESL Program
Dodge City Community College
Dodge City, Kansas

Marguerite Martinez
ESL Program Director
Kansas City Kansas Public Schools
Kansas City, Kansas

Kelly Mobray
Director, Salina Adult Education Center
Salina Public Schools USD 305
Salina, Kansas

Allen Park
Washington Elementary School
Hays, Kansas

Wuanita Porter
Adult Education Center
Ottawa, Kansas

Angela Rathbun
ESOL Teacher
Price Magnet Elementary School
Wichita, Kansas

Christopher Renner
Immediate Past President
Kansas Association of Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages and Bilingual Educators
Manhattan, Kansas

Gilberto Rito
Washington Elementary School
Liberal, Kansas

Alice Sagehorn
Director of Professional Development Schools
Pittsburg State University
Pittsburg, Kansas

Roxie Thompson
Elementary ESOL Teacher
Victor Ornelas Elementary School
Garden City, Kansas

Dr. Jan Voss
Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction
Arkansas City Public Schools
Arkansas City, Kansas

Elaine Walter (posthumously)
Visual Arts Teacher
Sublette High School
Sublette, Kansas

Ann Wyatt
ESL Department Chair
East High School
Wichita, Kansas

This page was last updated on 01/28/2004

Contact the KATESOL Webmaster at .